Who are the OurRoots Mighty Mentors?

  • Adult adoptees or friends of the adoptee community who would like to be a positive role model in the lives of young, transracial/transnational adoptees

  • Volunteers, ages 21+, who are carefully interviewed, screened, and must successfully pass a background check

IMG_3453+%281%29.jpg

Are you interested in making a difference in the lives of youth adoptees? Fill out the form below and we’ll contact you with more information!

Mentor Interest Form

Name *
Name
Phone *
Phone
If applicable
How did you hear about OurRoots? *
Check all that apply

Meet the 2019-2020 Mighty Mentors!

Adam.jpg

Adam

Hi, my name is Adam! I was born in Seoul, South Korea in 1980 and lived there for the first 13 months with a foster family before being adopted and coming to live in Minnesota. I am married and my wife and I have a one-and-a-half-year-old lab puppy named Mina. In 2016 my wife, mom and I went on a trip to Korea with Christine and had a wonderful time experiencing my birthland. Since then, I’ve enjoyed learning to cook a variety of Korean food, trying to learn the language and watching and listening to Korean entertainment. I have also become involved in learning about the current state of adoption, the process, and the challenges that transracial adoption presents. This has given me a chance to look back at how my adoption story has shaped me.

I hope through the OurRoots program I am able to provide support, compassion, and mentorship to the young adoptees of today, in a way I wish I would have had someone who looked like me, or could personalize what I was feeling about adoption when I was younger. I am look forward to getting to know everyone!

Amy.jpg

Amy

Hello, My name is Amy. I was adopted to my family in Cloquet, MN at the age of 2. My family consists of my husband Jason, our three daughters Brooke, Kiana, Angie, & our collie, Bear. In the summer we enjoy spending time in the water at my parents’ cabin. During the long winter months you can find us  at Spirit Mtn. I enjoy being active & hiking, while listening to my favorite music or podcasts. I also love dogs, travel, & reading! With our two older daughters in college & our youngest a senior in high school, we have experienced our fair share of parenting challenges and triumphs.

I studied Health Information Management many moons ago, at the College of St. Scholastica, when I was unsure what I wanted to do. At the time I did not want to work closely with people. As I grew older I realized connection with people was what I was seeking in my life. Much of my professional work life has been as a therapist in a chronic pain rehabilitation clinic. My job consisted of teaching & providing “mind/body’ healing modalities. These modalities included: yoga, mindfulness, meditation, somatics, massage therapy, aromatherapy, breath & brain re-education. I currently work as a massage/myofascial release therapist, & lead group fitness classes at Essentia Fitness Center. I became very interested in connecting with transracial adoptees three years ago, after traveling to my birthland of Korea. A year ago I started a meetup group for adult adoptees in the Arrowhead Region of MN.

I may not have known it as a kid, but retrospectively, I can say I would have benefited greatly from being part of a transracial adoptee mentor group. Looking back, I remember feeling disconnected from self & others, much of the time. Having positive racial mirrors - fun, patient, present, & conversational mentors - would have helped me feel a sense of belonging. I appreciate this opportunity to do my best to provide that to transracially adopted youth, at this time in my life. 

Andrew.jpg

Andrew

My name is Andrew (Lee Ha Moon). I was born in Jinju, South Korea in 1991, and was adopted when I was five months old. I grew up in Eden Prairie, MN with an older brother and sister who were also adopted from South Korea. I lived in MN from five months old to when I graduated from high school, and attended college at UW‐Madison. I received a degree in Civil Engineering. I now live in Minneapolis, and work as a structural engineer. I love to cook, play tennis, yoga, and anything outdoors. 

Growing up as an adoptee, a favorite part of my summer was going to a Korean culture camp for 9 years. I met some people who in my eyes were a mentor to me, so I love the opportunity now to provide something similar to other younger adoptees. Additionally, there is nothing like being part of a group where we all have a unifying theme of adoption spanning our lives and experiences. I look forward to working with OurRoots for another year!

IMG_6712.jpg

Brooke.jpg

Brooke

My name is Brooke. I am 21 years old and I am in my senior year at the University of Minnesota. I am majoring in Finance and Management Information Systems and hope to be a Business Analyst when I graduate. I enjoy snowboarding, playing violin, and traveling. Some places I have visited are New York City, Seattle, Orlando, New Orleans, and South Korea where I studied for a semester. I served as a mentor last fall and am looking forward to having fun and making more memories this year!

IMG_4113.JPG
Christina.jpeg

Christina

My name is Christina and I’m 27 years old. When I was 2 years old, I was adopted from Wuhu, China. I have 2 brothers and a sister who are adopted as well!

Growing up, I loved to draw and I ended up getting a BFA in Illustration from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design. I still enjoy making art. I also enjoy meeting new people! It’s part of the reason I chose to be a mentor.

Programs like AdopteeBridge, allow youth to meet other peers who are in many ways like them! It’s a safe place to have discussions and just be yourself! It’s an experience that I’m happy to be involved with!

P1090802.jpg

Sennen

Sennen is currently a full-time college student at the University of Wisconsin-Superior where he is majoring in communications. Sennen enjoys playing football and traveling and has mentored youth in football programs and teenagers in the Upward Bound program which encourages teenagers to attend college by emphasizing the importance of a college education. 

While Sennen is not adopted, he can empathize with adoptees' experiences as when he was young he moved to the United States from St. Lucia, to live with family members he did not know well.  He acknowledges his experience is not identical to that of adoptees, but he would like to mentor adoptees because he believes it is ok to be different and he wants adoptees to know they are not alone.

Sennen faced hurdles of feeling different and how to belong--he would like to support adoptees on how to overcome this burden. Sennen says, " I hope to see each and everyone that is a part of the OurRoots Program grow in a positive way by learning from each other. I know that there are some things I will learn from the mentees as they will also learn from me."


image_123986672.jpg

Kallie

My name is Kallie and I’m 27 years old. I was born in Busan, South Korea and was adopted at the age of seven months. I like to hang out with friends and family. My hobbies include cooking, baking, video games, music, reading and traveling.

20181215_131407.jpg
Shinay.jpg

Shinay

My name is Shinay, which is a mash up of my Korean Name Lee Shin Hye. I grew up in northern Minnesota with my parents, and I have one older brother who was also adopted from Korea, as well as two older sisters. I'm currently 29 years old, I work in the adoption field, and I live in St. Paul with my pup, B. I like going to concerts, traveling, Harry Potter, podcasts, and ice cream. I first wanted to be a mentor because I wanted to have the opportunity to give a sense of belonging and understanding to younger adoptees - something I missed when I was a kid. I still like this part of mentoring, but I also like hanging out with awesome kids and getting to try new things.

IMG_E6205.jpg
tessa.jpg

Tessa

My name is Tessa. I am 42 years old. My family consists of me, my son, stepson, and my fiancé. We love doing outdoor activities as a family. I have experience with foster children ranging from all ages and exchange students—one from China and another one from Korea.

I have a degree in Human Services and Social Work. I was born in St. Paul, MN and I love to shop. I want to be a mentor to help children understand they are who they are regardless of where they come from.

 

 
Trevor.jpg

Trevor

My name is Trevor. I’m 33 years old, and my family (the Panda Posse as we like to call it) consists of my wife Kayla, our two twin girls Parker and Rylan and our dog Elliot. We enjoy being active, the outdoors, sports both playing and watching, especially baseball/softball.

We Love spending time with Family and Friends, whether it’s dinner, game night, bonfire, etc. Kayla and I were fortunate enough to travel to South Korea in 2016 with Christine. We are fortunate to have stayed in contact with Christine since the trip, and have been blessed to be a part of AdopteeBridge. Looking forward to another session as a mentor!

IMG_E6663.JPG
Gabe.jpg

Gabe
**Starting Spring 2020

My name is Gabe. I graduated from St. Mary's University with a Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. I currently work at Ellie Family Services as a therapist while I am pursuing a License in MFT in the State of MN. I am one of 5 in my family; my parents have one biological daughter and adopted myself and my other three siblings. I enjoy working with children, teens, and families and my overall goal is to improve the quality of life for individuals and families. I look forward to hanging out with the mentees and mentors for another year of OurRoots!